Summer Reading List

Well, June is here and I have summer reading goals. Here are the books–in no particular order–that I’d love to get read this summer. Check back with me over Labor Day. We’ll see how well I did.

Kate’s List, Summer 2007:

Middlemarch by George Eliot
The Known World by Edward P. Jones
The Road by Cormac McCarthy
Adam Bede by George Eliot
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean
Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl
We wish to inform you that tomorrow we will be killed with our families: Stories from Rwanda by Philip Gourevitch
Light in August by William Faulkner
Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
Gilda Joyce: The Ghost Sonata by Jennifer Allison
Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

11 Comments »

  1. adrienne said

    Wow, that’s some list. Some of those books may make you want to take a bath with a toaster. Enjoy!

  2. Good luck with the Gourevitch. I had to read that for a class a few years ago and could only get through about half. Not the most pleasurable read.

  3. Beth said

    You’re ambitious!
    I loved Suite Francaise.

  4. Kate S. said

    Ambitious was the word that sprang to my mind as well. Very exciting too though. So many wonderful books!

  5. I read the Known World last fall. Would love to hear your thoughts.

    I’ve also been curious about Hugo Caberet as well.

  6. Stephanie said

    That’s a great list!! I’ve been curious about Hugo Caberet as well. I picked it up at the book store and it is such a “pretty” book! I loved Stargirl by Spinelli. It’s one of my favorites. And I have The Road on my list for summer as well! Good luck!

  7. Kelly said

    Great list! I read suite francaise a couple of months ago and just loved it to death. I am going to be reading the road and middlemarch as well this summer.

  8. Heather said

    I read The Road – excellent! Disturbing but excellent. I hope you are getting on well with your summer reading list!

  9. Errol Lord said

    Suite Française is really fantastic. I am almost ashamed that I haven’t read it until now.

  10. Mom said

    I can’t believe you planned to read all those books in one summer!

  11. eliana23 said

    Kate, you need to put a note on here about THE TRUTH. Not the title of a book, but the fact that you read an interesting percentage of these books. Also, did you buy the Spinelli? I want it. And, I love you despite your illiteracy.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.