Top Ten

Here it is, folks. My ten favorite books from 2006. These are books that have stuck with me. I’ve thought about them each many times throughout the year. Here are they are, in the order I read them.

The Hummingbird’s Daughter Luis Alberto Urrea
Arthur and George Julian Barnes
Looking for Alaska John Green
The Mill on the Floss George Eliot
Intuition Allegra Goodman
The Book Thief Markus Zusak
The Thin Place Kathryn Davis
Black Swan Green David Mitchell
Ursula, Under Ingrid Hill
Love in the Time of Cholera Gabriel Garcia Marquez

4 Comments »

  1. Eliana said

    OK KAte, I am going to use this list–though not INTUITION since it will be coming in the bookclub year. I will keep you posted on my opinions (including if I think you are insane). THanks for the ideas, super big thanks.

  2. Jenna said

    I’m so glad that GGMarquez has made it on your top books to be read lists!! He’s the best!

  3. […] Airborn/Skybreaker, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Favorite books read last year? See this post. Favorite books of all time? I think I’ll get that one its own post someday […]

  4. Ingrid Hill said

    Hi Katherine–

    I was just cruising for reviews on this beautiful Sunday afternoon and came across your inclusion in your list of URSULA, UNDER. Thanks for the compliment. It made my day to be included on a list with Garcia Marquez (among others): it made up for having found myself earlier today on a favorites list with (shudder, egad) Dan Brown.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

