Here! Here!

Okay, I am now officially in love with one M(atthew) T(obin) Anderson. I was already halfway there after reading this interview with him, which I found via Big A little a. Wow, I thought, what a cool guy! But, now that I’m getting closer to the end of Octavian Nothing, it’s official. M.T. Anderson is brilliant, and I love him. Too bad he has a girlfriend. And, oh yeah, I’m married.

Like I’ve said, I’m very interested in Colonial America. In his book, Anderson doesn’t go out of his way to “create” 1775. There aren’t elaborate descriptions of tri-cornered hats, redcoats, and taverns. But, yet every detail is perfect–the speech, the Massachusetts countryside, the names (my favorites, so far, are “Fruition” and “Evidence”). The book IS 1775.

But, man, is it dark. If you’ve read it, you know what happens at the Pox Party. I should have known it would be something big (and bad!) since “Pox Party” is in the title. But still I was unprepared for the gruesomeness. I wonder how this will all end. I suppose I’ll have to wait for Volume 2.

If you haven’t already, do check out Octavian Nothing. And, if you’re in the mood for something colonial, yet not quite so heavy, go get two of my very favorite Ann Rinaldi historical books–The Fifth of March or Finishing Becca.

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve always been a fan of Wolf by the Ears. I guess it’s just my Jefferson obsession.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

