If There Are Powdered Wigs, I’m There!

I finished Octavian Nothing and want more. Bring on Volume Two! Check out this post at Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast if you really want to do some thinkin’ about Mr. Anderson’s brilliant book. As for me, with Octavian as my first book of the year, let’s just say I’m batting 1,000 so far with my 2007 reading.

Meanwhile, I’m staying in the eighteenth century with Antonia Fraser’s biography of Marie Antoinette. I began my Marie Antoinette education this fall with Sena Jeter Naslund’s Abundance (which is good, but not as historically delicious as Ahab’s Wife!). I managed to sneak away to Barnes and Noble for over an hour this afternoon while my husband watched the baby, and I spent the whole time reading about “Antoine.” Normally, I’m not a big non-fiction reader and I honestly think this is the first straight up biography I’ve read since the “Woodrow Wilson: Boy President” (or something like that) biographies that I had to read circa fifth grade.

I had a hard time deciding what book to read next since Octavian is a hard act to follow. I think I made a good choice, though, since Marie Antoinette is a contemporary of Octavian, Ev, Shun, and the rest.

3 Comments »

  1. Woodrow Wilson! Remember when I stole the show in Mrs. Schwenka’s class with my rendition based off that wonderful novel?

  2. jules said

    Hi, Kate! Glad you liked our post. Thanks for leaving your thoughts. I guess I’m all alone in thinking that someone else scribbled O’s thoughts out. Waa waaa . . . I jest with the crying. It makes total sense that Octavian did it.

    Anyway, thanks again. I can’t wait ’til the next volume, too.

    I’m totally going to add you to our blogroll, too. I enjoy your blog, though I haven’t had time to look around as much as I’d like to.

  3. eisha said

    Howdy, Kate. I’m also glad to know you liked our post, and liked hearing what you had to say about Octavian, too. And I have those moments where I recognize Feed in everyday life, too!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

