Recommendations for a Reading Girl

I may not yet be the world-renowned librarian I aspire to be, but I have achieved a small degree of fame . . . in my immediate family! Recently both of sisters have asked for book recommendations from me.

Unfortunately for Sister Who Asked First, she asked before I started this blog, so she got a plain ol’ email.

Sister Who Asked Next asked after I started “This Just In” so she gets her list posted here. Here are the books I recommend for SWAN, who is 26, works at a university, is married, has a Latin-American background, and lives in the South. Her favorite book is Midwives by Chris Bohjalian. If that sounds like you, perhaps you’d like the books on this list, too.

Stargirl Jerry Spinelli: Stargirl is my idol
The First Part Last Angela Johnson: if you like urban, teenage parent stories
What Was She Thinking Zoe Heller: British, student/teacher affair, many memorable moments
Outside Valentine Liza Ward: takes place in Nebraska!
In the Time of the Butterflies Julia Alvarez: Dominican Republic, tropical, girl power, inspirational
Me Talk Pretty One Day David Sedaris: essays, funniest book I’ve ever read
Middlesex Jeffrey Eugenides: family history saga, a character with boy and girl parts
Intuition Allegra Goodman: Cambridge, Massachusetts, research lab, cure for cancer?
The Book Thief Markus Zusak: made me sob, Germany during Hitler’s era
Ursula, Under Ingrid Hill: what happens when a 2-year-old falls into a mine shaft?
Love in the Time of Cholera Gabriel Garcia Marquez: very, very romantic
The Hummingbird’s Daughter Luis Alberto Urrea: lots of Mexican history
The Year of Secret Assignments Jaclyn Moriarty: Australian, teenagers, forbidden loves
Twilight Stephenie Meyer: couldn’t put it down, vampires

5 Comments »

  1. Beth said

    Interesting list. Some I’ve read, some I haven’t. And I love all of Chris Bohjalian’s novels.

  2. SWAF if feeling a little jealous of SWAN.

  3. I hope Ab remembers that I gave her _Love in the Time of Cholera_ in Spanish a few years ago.

  4. Susan said

    Me Talk Pretty One Day makes me laugh just thinking about it.

  5. cloudscome said

    What a great list! I am going to look for those.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

