Happy MLK!

Call it a cliche, but since today is Martin Luther King Day, I’m going to post about some of my favorite kids’ books starring African-American characters. Favorites are by Rita Williams-Garcia, especially Like Sisters on the Homefront, which is so good! It’s about a city girl who gets pregnant for the second time. Her mother forces her to have an abortion, then ships her off to her strict Georgian relatives.

I’ve read two other books by Williams-Garcia, Every Time a Rainbow Dies, which takes place in a Caribbean section of New York City and No Laughter Here, a short novel which deals with female genital mutilation but is really about the friendship between two 10-year-old girls.

And of course I have to mention Christopher Paul Curtis. Now this will probably induce horrified gasps amongst my legions (!) of readers, but I have NOT read The Watsons go to Birmingham-1963! I know, I know. I’ll do it. However, I have read Bud, Not Buddy and Bucking the Sarge. Bucking the Sarge made me laugh out loud—plus, I love the cover! The narrators of both of these books have captivating personalities, and their stories reeled me in and wouldn’t let me go.

And, though it is not by an African-American, Chris Crowe’s Mississippi Trial, 1955, is worth a mention. It’s about the murder of Emmet Till, which I didn’t know anything about until I read this book. I love books with a strong sense of time and place, which this book definitely has.

1 Comment »

  1. Heather T. said

    I hadn’t heard of any of the authors in this post!! Thank you for writing about them – I’m off to explore their work.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

