Long Live the Queen!

Well, I finished Marie Antoinette: The Journey last night! Hip Hip Hooray! I feel great about this accomplishment. As I’ve mentioned, I don’t read a lot of non-fiction, and it is not something I gravitate towards. A few days after I posted about reading a biography most recently in 5th grade, I remembered that–just three years ago–I started John Adams and didn’t finish it! I rarely do not finish books, so this is an unseemly blot upon my reading record. So, just the fact that I finished this big bio is a cause for throwing one’s tri-cornered hat in the air!

I had a little trouble slogging through the bits on court politics. Mainly because I couldn’t keep all the characters straight–all the Ducs and Comtes and Princesses. But, otherwise, the book kept me riveted, particularly as I got toward the infamous end and the chapter “The Head of Antoinette.” Whoa.

I now feel like I really know Marie Antoinette. And I feel bad for her! She was a good mother and not a bad person, and she got a raw deal. She just happened to be a Queen at a bad time for queens. Honestly, I got this book because of its pretty pink cover and because I want to see the Sofia Coppola movie. Now, I’m eager to read more about the French Revolution. I’m even considering reading A Tale of Two Cities. We’ll see what I decide on that. What I really want to do is visit France and see all of Marie Antoinette’s real life stuff.

And isn’t that what reading is all about–learning and wanting more? Oui.

3 Comments »

  1. Beth said

    My comment is not coming through – I’m just trying again…

  2. Beth said

    This is driving me crazy. My “nothing” comment came through but not the one I want!
    One more time….check out City of Darkness, City of Light by Marge Piercy (fiction, French Revolution – great book).
    (If I am messing up your comments section – my apologies.)

  3. I really enjoyed Tale of Two Cities as a directed reading book in high school. I was somewhat familiar with the characters thanks to a Wishbone episode, and that helped.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

