Go Tell it on the Mountain

I’ve been busy reading a book for my book club–The Education of Little Tree by Forrest Carter. Now, it’s not a book I would have picked up on my own. Maybe because the word “education” is in the title. Even though I am a former teacher, the word “education” doesn’t exactly send chills of reading anticipation down my spine. But, really, I’m 2/3 through, and I’m digging it. The five-year-old narrator’s voice is a bit too precious at times, but the descriptions of life in the Tennessee mountains, 1930, are neat. Along with Colonial America and Turn of the Century stories, I also love Life in a Cabin stories–so this fits the bill. It’s a fun read.

I am reminded of life in high school, though. I’m on a deadline. I have to have this book finished by 8:30 tomorrow evening. Will I make it? Think so.

Leave a Reply

