Summer, 1928

I haven’t quite decided, but I might be in the middle of discovering an all-time favorite book. And it’s not a new release. It’s an oldie. It’s Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury. I first acquired this book from a co-worker. She let me borrow it, then moved to Houston. And I still have her book! Heather, if you’re out there, I need your address!

Dandelion Wine had been sitting on my shelf for almost two years, and I finally picked it up–because of, naturally, blogging. A few months ago, it got a mention on A Fuse #8 Production. “I really should read that!” I thought. Then, just this week at Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast, Eisha mentioned Ray Bradbury. “That’s it!” I cried inwardly. “I’m reading Dandelion Wine!”

I’m 2/3 through, and it is close to perfection.

3 Comments »

  1. eisha said

    Yay! You won’t be sorry, not one bit. Please keep us posted on how you like it. You’ve inspired me to reread it, too!

  2. Mary Lee said

    But don’t be tricked into reading the sequel Bradbury just published this year. The Male Role Model Reader in my house was sorely disappointed by it. My book club was going to read the sequel, but upon MRMR’s recommendation, we are just going to read/reread Dandelion Wine. I can’t wait. I hope it’s as good as it was the first time!

  3. Kate S. said

    I read “Dandelion Wine” years ago in school and I don’t remember anything about it. After your enthusiastic endorsement, I’m putting it on my to-be-reread list!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

