Hooray for the Cybils!

cybils_medal2.jpg

I’m sure most of this blog’s readers already know about the Cybils. But I’ll put in another plug. For those of you who don’t know, the Cybils are sort of a cross between the Newberys and the Quills. They are chosen by a group of bloggers who are huge children’s literature enthusiasts and attempt to honor books that have literary merit and are immensely readable and will be liked by kids.

Part of me wishes that I had joined the brave group of volunteers who read and read and read and, over a period of months, narrowed the books down to shortlists in various categories. But, I just don’t have the time these days. Wah. But anyway, yesterday was the big day. This year’s Cybils winners were announced!

Find the list of winners here. And, as Jen Robinson put so well, go out and buy some of these books! Now, that’s my kind of request! I already own A Drowned Maiden’s Hair (love ya, Maud!) and Butterfly Eyes and Other Secrets of the Meadow (fantastically beautiful!). And I’m off to get more on amazon!

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks so much for supporting the Cybils (and for supporting my plea for people to buy books)! Maybe you’ll have time to participate in an more active role some future year. But meanwhile, thanks so much for the positive feedback!

  2. Butterfly Eyes is on the way to me!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

