Read To Me Update


For the last month, I’ve been working on Jennifer’s “Read To Me” mission with my 10-month-old son. I wrote about my goals here.

I’ve been good about reading to T in the morning–mainly thanks to this Read To Me mission. We read together most mornings. I can’t say we read 30 minutes every day, but some days we do. And almost every day we read for at least 20 minutes. Grade=B

I’ve been very good about reading to T each time we go to Barnes and Noble. My favorite book to read to him there is a GIGANTIC version of The Very Hungry Caterpillar (sorry, I can’t find a link). Grade=A

My husband does read to our son. Every Thursday evening I have bell choir practice, and he watches T. I know they read together most Thursdays. I have recruited my husband to join us in our reading from time to time, but not as often as I should. I definitely need to work toward more family reading time. This was my best goal, and I did the worst at it. Boo. But I WILL keep trying! Grade=C

Overall Grade: B

Thanks so much, Jennifer for starting this mission!

On a related note: we have begun attending storytime at the public library! We’ve gone the past two Fridays. I was concerned that 10 months might be too young for storytime, but T has done great so far! We go to the “little kids” time, obviously, which includes a lot of singing and dancing. T enjoys bouncing to the music, watching the other kids, being held in Mommy’s lap, and looking at the librarian while she reads (even if he doesn’t understand many words yet!). I am proud of this new routine in our lives!

2 Comments »

  1. I hope that before you hiply let your blog die, you will post a summary for the Read to Me mission. I’d love to hear about how you did.

  2. Funny that my comment is on there?? I hadn’t read the post yet. Maybe you changed that test post or whatever.

    Anyway, you did quite well, especially for a 10 month old. I think better than a B. Funny that you graded yourself. Anyway, keep it up!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

