Recommendation: Going Back to Bisbee

buyafriendabook.com081651289201_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_sclzzzzzzz_.jpgA big thank you to the fine folks at One Book, One Arizona! Without them, I never would have read Going Back to Bisbee by Richard Shelton. And I love this book! Thanks to Going Back to Bisbee, I’m all aflutter with excitement over Arizona history and Southwest lit. This book even inspired me to read more non-fiction.

I said earlier that Going Back to Bisbee has a little bit of everything. Yes, ma’am, it does. Local plant and animal life isn’t really my bag, but I didn’t dislike even that part of the book. The part where Shelton describes his experiences as an English teacher (yay!) in late 1950s Bisbee is very interesting to me. But what I really love about this book is how Wild West mining town Bisbee comes alive. As I’ve said many times on this blog, I LOVE the turn-of-the-century. I particularly like how Shelton contrasts the rigid morals of the family that owned Bisbee’s mining company with the “sins” of Bisbee–its saloons and whorehouses. Good stuff.

This passage from page 204 of Going Back to Bisbee sums up why I love the Wild West:

I wonder how many teams careened over the edge of that one [mountain] and wound up in the gulch hundreds of feet below in a tangle of harness, dead animals, and human bodies.

Horses. Violence. A gulch. Yes, I’m wildly enthusiastic about this One Book, One Arizona choice. And, I’m thrilled to say, that Richard Shelton himself will be in Yuma on April 25. A team of wild horses couldn’t drag me away!

Leave a Reply

