Spring Break Reading

It is “Spring Break” in Yuma. My husband is off work for the week, the county fair is here, and even storytime is canceled at the library this Friday! Spring Break has always been a time of great reading for me. Here are some recent Spring Break reads.

Spring Break, 2004:
I was living in the North and came down to Arizona to spend time with my now-husband. I read Don’t You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dumphrey by Marjorie Peterson Haddix and Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen. But the big book of that Spring Break–the one I couldn’t put down–is A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry. Swoon, swoon, swoon! Although I sobbed through the end of the book, it is one of my all-time faves. It’s one of those rare books that made me laugh and cry! I enjoy reading books about India, and this is my favorite Indian novel.

Spring Break, 2005:
This break was a glorious one for reading. I didn’t feel well for the first couple days of the week and spent hours in bed reading The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory. That’s not my usual type of book, for sure, but I really enjoyed it and sometimes think about it still. Then, I read a flurry of children’s/YA lit from my school library: Tangerine by Edward Bloor, So B. It by Sarah Weeks, Zigzag by Ellen Wittlinger, Deathwatch by Robb White, and Bucking the Sarge by Christopher Paul Curtis. I finished the week with The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd and, finally, another all-time favorite, LUV LUV LUV, In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez.

Spring Break, 2006:
I read one big book: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. A great book. I definitely couldn’t put that one down. I was eight months pregnant at the time, and it was a perfect “settle in and read” book.

3 Comments »

  1. Spring Break, 1998(?): Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens. Fun times calling little sister a tortoise.

  2. Eliana said

    You have such good taste in books, you lists always make me happy! A FINE BALANCE, that book broke my heart. I am thinking of it now. Did you read FAMILY MATTERS his other one? Heartbreaking and painful in a different way. I would recommend. Good YA choices too but that would take me too long and Cole is starting to get restless, what a surprise.

  3. […] Comments Well, I’m back from hiatus, folks! Thanks for hangin’ in. Several days ago I posted about my Spring Break reading. I wondered what this Spring Break would bring. SB ‘07 is very […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

