Reading Places

Jen Robinson recently wrote about her favorite places to read (here and here). What a great idea, Jen!

Where do you do most of your reading?
Before my son was born, I did most of my reading in bed. I’d languish there for a few hours weekend mornings, reading. I even remember reading A Handful of Dust by Evelyn Waugh the day he was born. It was a Saturday. I woke up at 6:00, and my contractions started at 8:30. Until then, I just read in bed, like it was a normal day. I also really enjoyed reading in our backyard. I’d sit by the pool on a chair or blanket, with a glass of lemonade or water and read to my heart’s content. “La la la la la!” (That’s what I say when I think of my pre-baby days, when I had all this time, and I didn’t even appreciate it!)

Nowadays, I read in more snips and snatches, whenever I can. I always take a book with me in the car in case T falls asleep. A few months ago I spent a very pleasant 45 minutes reading Kiki Strike in the Target parking lot. I get most of my reading done when T is napping, and I’m holding him on the couch.

Places Where I Have Enjoyed Reading
–on the beach in Laguna Beach, California
–in the car (especially as a kid)
–at the airport
–at the Olive Garden (for my birthday this year, I went out for lunch by myself and read Lolita for an hour!)
–in hotel rooms
–by the fire at my parents’ house on winter nights
–by the fire in the student union in college
–at my grandparents’ house, especially on the front porch and on the sidewalk, in spring and summer

3 Comments »

  1. What great responses! I love the idea of treating yourself to lunch out by yourself on your birthday, and reading Lolita. I do read when I’m at a restaurant by myself (naturally), mostly on business trips. Reading by a fire is definitely a nice treat, too.

    Have a great week!

  2. iliana said

    Oh this was so fun to read! I need to think about this and try to come up with some of my favorites too.

  3. Eliana said

    I read in the chair outside next to the sandbox, hoping for more than a page before Cole brings me something to show me, then I have to shake out the book periodically. Jenna was over watching him yesterday and noted that there is a book in each room of the house, for those moments when I suddenly realize that he is playing nicely and won’t mind if I am reading.
    Before the Child, especially while pregnant, my favorite place to read was floating in the pool. I think those days are long gone unless I want child protective services to take him away. But thanks for the memory…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

