Recommendation: Gilda Joyce: Ladies of the Lake*

51bn2kq1yxl_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_.jpgWow, I’ve read a lot of good books this year, but this one may just take the cake as my TOP read of 2007 (so far!). Gilda Joyce: Ladies of the Lake by Jennifer Allison is just so much fun! I love to read, and I love to laugh. But reading doesn’t usually make me laugh. This book is truly laugh-out-loud hilarious. Gilda Joyce is the girl I wish I had been when I was 13. She wears wigs, she solves mysteries, and her personality just LEAPS off the page. I finished the book this morning and–Oh Gilda!–I miss you. Luckily, I see another Gilda Joyce installment hits shelves in August!

In Gilda Joyce: Ladies of the Lake our fearless heroine solves the mystery surrounding the death of a student at an expensive private school that Gilda herself is attending on scholarship. You wouldn’t think a book about a girl drowning could be funny, but this one is! Gilda’s comments are hilarious–I especially enjoyed the goings on in Mr. Pante’s class (that’s Pan-TAY, not Panty!).

Ladies of the Lake is my second encounter with Gilda. I read Gilda Joyce: Psychic Investigator last summer. Why did I wait so long to read this one? Who knows. But it was worth the wait. The first one is spookier, the second funnier, and both are wonderful. Gilda Joyce fills a niche lots of kids are looking for: a mystery AND funny book. Go get yourself some Gilda Joyce!

*Yuma County Library book

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the review. I’ve also read the first one, and not gotten around to the second one. Your review will certainly move it up on the list.

  2. Unreal design, cool! http://boyarintsemogek.narod.ru/14.html – [url=http://boyarintsemogek.narod.ru/14.html]celebrex[/url] – celebrexcelebrex, buy, buy, buy, buying, buy, buy, buy, buy, fall, dream, weather, clayton, playboy, thomsville, http://www.jobdiscriptions.com, setting, sex, flying, party, bel, villages, vidsgal.com, rways.com, horocopes, kiss, cancun, we, southern, dealsonwheels.om, mexican, lyrics, refrigerator, auido, punisher, boyz-n-blue.com, government, paterson, 50, nautic, gential, lack, isovue, kays, african, motorhome, party, manahawkin, wwwemcemc.com, kingdomhearts2, best regards.

  3. chenoahsmall said

    I have read the second book and that review nails it! Right now im on the 4th

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

